Homosexuality: Oh boy, here we go…

Stop.

Please, stop.

Stop right there.

Stop what?

Stop immediately jumping to conclusions on the contents of this blog and what it will be about/what it will say. I fully intend for this post to be full of love, truth, and fairness. No judgements, no condemnations, no being a jerk. As such I would appreciate it if all discussion in comments (as well as all thoughts toward me) remain non-violent and civil.

You stopped?

Thank you.

I’ve been avoiding this for a long time because of one simple reason. I had come to the conclusion that no matter what I wrote, no matter how much time I spent thinking and writing, and no matter how I worded things I would inevitably offend people, missspeak, get something wrong, or even just miss a point I meant to make entirely. Instead of writing some massively long blog, I think the best thing for me to do is keep it short, simple, and to the point. I will include links as well so that you can get more information if you are interested. Alright, here we go.

1. Homosexuality is, according to God, a sin. (link)

2. So is stealing, lying, murder, lust, etc. (link)

3. No sin is greater than another.  (link) (link)

4. All have sinned. (Romans 3:23)

5. Therefore, all are equally deserving of death. (Romans 6:23)

6. Jesus died for ALL sin for EVERY single person. (link)

7. We have no room to judge others. (link)

8. We are commanded to love. (link)

9. It is out of LOVE that we should point out sin. (link)

10. God is love. (link)

And that, my friends, is where I firmly stand. I recognize a person’s right to make their own choices whether or not I believe them to be wrong (as long as it does no harm to others). I do believe homosexuality is wrong, but that does not mean I look at any person differently because of it. I will lovingly remind them that I disagree with their decision, but that’s not going to stop me from being a kind, loving friend. Ever. And it shouldn’t for you either. I’m not going to let a difference of opinion alienate me from another person. Alienation ruins a christian’s ability to witness and share the love of Christ. There is no need for anger, hate, stupidity, fear, etc. Just love. Let us all be a people of love. I think, at least, we can all agree that love is best. Even if we have different opinions on what it looks like.

One thought on “Homosexuality: Oh boy, here we go…

Leave a Reply

